Seven varsities collaborate on inter-library access

National 1 minute, 38 seconds


SEVEN higher education institution are working to organise a Reciprocal Borrowing Scheme (RBS) that will allow their students to access each other’s libraries.

The institutions include Politeknik Brunei, Universiti Brunei Darussalam, Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB), Universiti Islam Sultan Sharif Ali (UNISSA), Seri Begawan Religious Teachers University College (KUPU SB), IBTE Central Sultan Saiful Rijal Campus and IBTE Satellite Jefri Bolkiah Campus.

Hjh Norsenah Hj Mohd Nasir, head of Politeknik Brunei’s library, said through the RBS, students of the collaborating schools will be able to borrow books from any of the seven libraries.

“This is to ensure that our students will have access to various information that they may need as each library offers different books and resources,” she said.

She said there will be a specific form the students would need to fill to borrow books, which will be completed soon.

The form will contain the logos of the seven higher education institutions.

The number of books a student can borrow will depend on the respective institution’s library policy, she said.

Hjh Norsenah said Politeknik Brunei will allow students from other institutions to borrow two books at a time.

During the third meeting on October 17 at Politeknik Brunei, representatives from each institution discussed things that need improvement for the smooth implementation of RBS.

She said the policies and requirements will be finalised during the next meeting sometime in November.

“Once everything is finalised, the seven institutions will sign a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU),” Hjh Norsenah said.

Aside from providing easy access to wider library materials or resources, the RBS seeks to strengthen ties between libraries as well as increase the number of visitors to the libraries.

The RBS initiative was pursued to help promote lifelong learning as well as support the achievement of the country’s Vision 2035.

The third meeting was chaired by Hjh Norsenah and attended by 11 library heads, senior officers and representatives from the participating institutions.

The Brunei Times