Taiwan considers extending visa entry privileges for ASEAN states

National 1 minute, 6 seconds


TAIWAN is considering visa entry privileges for tourists from eight ASEAN member states including Brunei, said its Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA).

 According to a report submitted by MOFA to several legislative committees, visitors from Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam will be granted entry privileges such as visa waivers, landing visas or e-visa.

 While tourists from the sultanate can apply for e-visa or visa on arrival to enter Taiwan, they are currently not entitled to visa exemptions unlike Malaysians and Singaporeans.

 The China Post yesterday reported MOFA’s move to provide easier visa entries for the remaining eight ASEAN member states was in line with the government’s “New Southbound Policy” as outlined by newly-inaugurated Taiwanese President Tsai Ing-wen.

 In the new policy, Taiwan aims to achieve an economic transformation and push for a greater role in foreign affairs and global issues.  

MOFA said Southeast Asia forms a key segment which Taiwan must engage with as a part of its efforts to expand its domestic market with a “people-focused” strategy.

To achieve its goal, Taiwan is keen to attract tourists from Asia and emphasise joining regional economic integration.

 The Brunei Times previously reported 1,600 residents from the sultanate applied for tourist visas to Taiwan in 2012, an eight per cent increase from 2011.

The Brunei Times