Brunei, Kiribati establish diplomatic ties

National 1 minute, 7 seconds


BRUNEI Darussalam has established diplomatic relations with the Republic of Kiribati, an independent republic within the Commonwealth of Nations.

Formal relations took effect on January 26.

Kiribati is located in the central Pacific Ocean about 4,000 km southwest of Hawaii.

A press statement from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (MoFAT) said the signing of the joint communiqué took place at the Permanent Mission of Brunei Darussalam to the United Nations in New York.

Representing the Government of His Majesty The Sultan and Yang Di-Pertuan of Brunei Darussalam at the ceremony was Permanent Representative of Brunei to the United Nations in New York Dato Paduka Hj Abd Ghafar Hj Ismail, while the Republic of Kiribati was represented by its Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Makurita Baaro.

According to Kiribati’s official government tourism website, all of the islands are atolls (ring-shaped islands with central lagoons) except the island of Banaba in the Gilbert Islands, which is a raised limestone island.

Of the 33 islands of Kiribati, 21 are inhabited. Most of the population is concentrated in the Gilbert Islands, with only one of the islands in Phoenix Group (Kanton Island) inhabited and three of the Line Islands permanently inhabited.

The capital of Kiribati is Tarawa, an atoll in the Gilbert Islands. Bairiki, an islet of Tarawa, serves as an administrative centre.

The Brunei Times