MoE to merge seven technical institutions

National 1 minute, 16 seconds


THE seven existing technical education centres will be merged into one “mega campus“, the minister of education revealed yesterday.

Speaking during the tenth session of the Legislative Council (LegCo), Yang Berhormat Pehin Orang Kaya Seri Kerna Dato Seri Setia (Dr) Hj Awg Abu Bakar Hj Apong said such centres would be centralised to streamline operations and make it more cost-effective.

“This approach is based on the economic (considerations) and the reduction of unnecessary duplication of courses.”

The minister said a body tasked with planning the transformation would examine cost restructuring, and also streamline the courses on offer so they will be industry-specific.

The first step will be to make Jefri Bolkiah Engineering College the headquarters of the Brunei Maritime Academy. YB Pehin Dato Hj Abu Bakar then addressed the proposal of a specialised centre for the creative arts by LegCo member Yang Berhormat Datin Paduka Hjh Zasia Sirin on Monday.

“The curriculum in secondary schools already incorporates elements of the creative arts. The Department of Technical Education, and the institutions below it, are planning to examine the programmes on offer, including (potentially) offering a programme in creative media,” he said.

The minister briefly mentioned the potential construction of the Universiti Islam Sultan Sharif Ali campus in Temburong; and the proposal of building a permanent campus for Politeknik Brunei in Tutong.

“The campus will be a landmark in the area and it will also enhance economic development and social activitiy in Tutong District... which will definitely provide economic opportunities for residents.”

The Brunei Times