Fruit fair at Royal Regalia car park

National 1 minute, 38 seconds


A FRUIT fair will be held throughout the second half of this month at the car park in front of the Royal Regalia building in the capital, the Bandar Seri Begawan (BSB) Municipal Department announced.

Vendors interested in participating have until 3pm this Saturday to submit the participation form, which can be obtained from the Asset Unit, located on the first floor of the BSB Municipal Department on Jalan Perdana Menteri during office hours.

The fair will be held from December 15-31, from 2pm to 10pm on weekdays and on Saturday. On Fridays and public holidays, the fair will be open from 8am to 10pm.

Any enquiries can be directed to Rosdi Hj Ibrahim of the Asset Unit, through 2232424 ext 143 or by faxing 2239124.

Similar fruit festivals have been held in the past, in a bid to boost local fruit production and encourage domestic spending.

The second National Fruits Festival was held in December last year and involved 50 vendors offering local fruits including durian, rambutan, kembayau and langsat, along with showcasing local handicraft under the “One Village, One Product” initiative.

“This festival (was) opened to small and medium entrepreneurs to provide them with the opportunity to gain (additional) income throughout the period it is held,” the Ministry of Home Affairs said in a past statement.

The first national fruits festival was held in early February last year. Initially scheduled for five days at the capital’s waterfront, it was extended for two days following vendors’ requests, some of whom were making $500 to $1,000 per day, according to a past report.

The Department of Agriculture and Agrifood (DAA) has targeted 2023 as the year to achieve 100 per cent self-sufficiency in local fruits production, or 24,000 metric tonnes.

Local fruit production was recorded at 15.4 per cent of supply in 2011, the latest statistics posted on DAA’s website. The bulk of fruits supplied in Brunei was previously said to be imported from Malaysia, Indonesia, Australia, Thailand and China.

The Brunei Times